Moomba Long Weekend 5-8 March 2021

Moomba Monarchs

The crowning of the Moomba Monarchs is one of the festival’s most iconic ceremonial traditions

Over the years, the Moomba Monarchs, who reign over the parade, have included the likes of Bert Newton, Dame Edna and Molly Meldrum, as well as sporting and community heroes such as Cathy Freeman, and Stevie and Michelle Payne.

Julia Morris

Hear ye, hear ye, make way for our Moomba Monarch, Julia Morris! A showbiz success story, Julia has seamlessly shimmied between the stage and screen for over 34 years. Her growing list of appearances on big-name TV shows is impressive, with hosting gigs on I’m a Celebrity…Get Me Out Of Here! and Australia’s Got Talent, not to mention her five Logie nominations. As a stand-up comedian, she’s been in every major comedy festival in the world and even shared the stage with Whoopi Goldberg, Richard Pryor and Robin Williams. It’s safe to say that Julia’s infectious humour is universally loved both on Aussie and international shores.

Nazeem Hussain

Raise the roof for our reigning Moomba Monarch, Nazeem Hussain! Nazeem has fast become one of the biggest stars of Australian comedy, and a much-loved television and radio celebrity. His line-up of on-screen accolades include I’m a Celebrity…Get Me Out Of Here!, Bill Nye Saves the World, Funny or Die, Orange Is The New Brown and Legally Brown making him a household name both in Australia and around the world. To top it all off, he’s a regular on the comedy circuit and has recently launched his own Netflix special Nazeem Hussain: Public Frenemy bringing laughs to a legion of old and new fans.

Past Moomba Monarchs

  • 2019 Archie Thompson and Jane Bunn
  • 2018 Jimmy Giggle (aka Jimmy Rees) and Chrissie Swan
  • 2017 Guy Grossi and Karen Martini
  • 2016 Michelle and Stevie Payne
  • 2015 Shane Warne and Pallavi Sharda
  • 2014 Bert Newton and Lucy Durack
  • 2013 Community and Emergency Services
  • 2012 Harry Kewell and Natalie Bassingthwaighte
  • 2011 Mick Malthouse and Ruby Rose
  • 2010 Ian 'Molly' Meldrum and Kate Ceberano
  • 1998 Denise Drysdale
  • 1997 Lano and Woodley
  • 1996 Marina Prior
  • 1995 Cathy Freeman
  • 1994 Andrew Gaze
  • 1993 The Oarsome Foursome
  • 1992 Don Dunstan
  • 1991 Tony Shaw
  • 1990 David Hanison
  • 1989 Con the Fruiterer
  • 1988 Jo Pearson
  • 1987 Paul McNamee and Marita Jones
  • 1986 Peter Brock and Ingrid Johansen
  • 1985 Ian ‘Molly’ Meldrum and Anne Erikson
  • 1984 Kevin Bartlett and Kim Kermonde
  • 1983 Daryl Somers and Linda Knight
  • 1982 Frank Thring & Sharon McKenzie
  • 1981 Lou Richards and Kim Formosa
  • 1980 Paul Cronin and Elizabeth Egan